top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelaviebyda

Complicated

We have a relationship so complicated that we will only forgive each other after we’ve forgiven ourselves

But if you’re feeling the way I do then I know that won’t happen in the near future

Not because we don’t want to but because we don’t know how

How do you forgive yourself for something you still can’t understand?

How can you forgive yourself for something you still haven’t fully accepted?

How do you forgive yourself for forging a love so strong that it started to cave in on itself?

Our love was too much

Our love was like the eye of the storm

We sat in it feet crossed, palm to palm, heads touching

While all around us there was chaos, madness, strife

I think that’s why it still hurt

It didn’t hurt because we genuinely wanted to leave each other

It hurt because we knew we had to

We were betrayed by the very thing that held us together

We knew that if we didn’t separate, we would’ve broken everything around us

Call us heroes

Call us angels

Call us selfless

Call us crazy

Because we did something horrific to people that we loved without understanding why just to ease the pain

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

The Cathedral

I looked at the building and it reminded me of you Dirty, slightly broken, in need of repair but glorious Not at all what it used to be but it’s cracks carried a grace so rare it had to be touched by

Black Woman

Black woman you move me You inspire me You breathed life into me The black woman An underappreciated art form Carefully curated by the creator himself I’m convinced you’re Gods favorite With a beauty

Moniker

I see your name now and feel nothing, Absolutely nothing. It’s like your name is written in another language One I’ve never known but oddly recognize But I guess that’s art imitating life, A true test

bottom of page