top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturelaviebyda

The Cathedral

I looked at the building and it reminded me of you

Dirty, slightly broken, in need of repair but glorious

Not at all what it used to be but it’s cracks carried a grace so rare it had to be touched by the almighty

You were my church, my salvation,

I kneeled before you and kissed your feet

An act that removed the sanity from sanctity

You were no god but you were my church,

Life dealt you an unfair hand but you somehow managed to twist your realities into jagged edges which you used to slay me

It took David one stone to slay the giant but it took you only one word to make me stay

Why have a casualty of war when you could have a willing soldier, ready to carry out your every demand?

You were my church.

A beacon of hope able to attract the masses with a false promise of prosperity

You became more than a figure, you were now a place

One filled with tithing and worship

A place of possibility

An emotional crutch

But no more,

My sins are no longer yours to bare

Now when I walk by that church all that is left to do is say Amen.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Complicated

We have a relationship so complicated that we will only forgive each other after we’ve forgiven ourselves But if you’re feeling the way I do then I know that won’t happen in the near future Not becaus

Black Woman

Black woman you move me You inspire me You breathed life into me The black woman An underappreciated art form Carefully curated by the creator himself I’m convinced you’re Gods favorite With a beauty

Moniker

I see your name now and feel nothing, Absolutely nothing. It’s like your name is written in another language One I’ve never known but oddly recognize But I guess that’s art imitating life, A true test

bottom of page